What is the Indian e-Tourist Visa (eTV)?

India has recently decided to allow citizens of more than 100 countries to apply for a visa to visit India from the comfort of their own homes, using their new  e-Tourist Visa. All visitors to India are legally required to hold a valid visa to travel to India, and this new system will allow that visa to be obtained much more easily. Eligible travelers may travel to India with an  e-Tourist Visa. The  e-Tourist Visa is an electronically-stored authority for travel to India for a short-term tourist visit. It replaces the visa label or stamp in a passport and removes the need for application forms and in person visits to the Indian Consulate.

e-Tourist Visa Facility is available for holders of passport of following countries (unless they are of Pakistani origin):

Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Island,Chile, China, China- SAR Hongkong, China- SAR Macau, Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand,Nicaragua, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tonga, Turks & Caicos Island, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, United Kingdom, USA, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City-Holy See, Venezuela, Vietnam, Albania, Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Comoros, Cote d'lvoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Eritrea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Iceland, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Moldova, Namibia, Romania, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Trinidad & Tobago, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Eligible foreign nationals can apply for Indian visa online without going to Indian Mission (Embassy/ Consulate/ High Commission.

  • The e-Tourist Visa (eTV) will be valid for 30 days.
  • Those travelling on leisure, short duration medical treatment, and casual business visit or to meet friends and relatives will be eligible to apply.
  • The facility is available at nine airports including Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore, Chennai, Kochi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata and Thiruvanathapuram.
  • Once application approved, applicant will receive the India E-Tourist Visa (eTV) via email to travel to India.
  • A print out the India E-Tourist Visa is all visitor needs to show to the immigration authorities in India, who will then stamp the entry into the country.