Holidays in India in 2015

Date Day Holiday name Holiday type
January 1 Thursday New Year's Day Restricted holiday
January 4 Sunday Milad un-Nabi and 
Gazetted holiday
January 5 Monday Guru Govind Singh Jayanti Restricted holiday
January 15 Thursday Pongal Restricted holiday
January 22 Thursday Beti Bachao, Beti Padhao Campaign Launch Day Observance
January 24 Saturday Vasant Panchami Restricted holiday
January 26 Monday Republic Day Gazetted holiday
February 3 Tuesday Guru Ravidas Jayanti Restricted holiday
February 14 Saturday Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Restricted holiday
February 14 Saturday Valentine's Day Observance
February 17 Tuesday Maha Shivaratri and Shivaratri Gazetted holiday
February 19 Thursday Shivaji Jayanti Restricted holiday
February 19 Thursday Chinese New Year Observance
March 5 Thursday Holika Dahana Restricted holiday
March 6 Friday Dolyatra Restricted holiday
March 20 Friday March equinox Season change
March 21 Saturday Chaitra Sukhladi Restricted holiday
March 28 Saturday Rama Navami Gazetted holiday
April 2 Thursday Maundy Thursday Observance, Christian
April 2 Thursday Mahavir Jayanti Gazetted holiday
April 3 Friday Good Friday Gazetted holiday
April 4 Saturday First day of Passover Observance
April 5 Sunday Easter Day Restricted holiday
April 14 Tuesday Vaisakhi Restricted holiday
April 14 Tuesday Ambedkar Jayanti Observance
April 15 Wednesday Mesadi and Vaisakhadi Restricted holiday
May 1 Friday May Day Observance
May 3 Sunday Hazarat Ali's Birthday Restricted holiday
May 4 Monday Buddha Purnima and Vesak Gazetted holiday
May 9 Saturday Birthday of Ravindranath Restricted holiday
May 10 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
June 21 Sunday Father's Day Observance
June 21 Sunday June Solstice Season change
July 17 Friday Jamat Ul-Vida Restricted holiday
July 18 Saturday Rath Yatra Restricted holiday
July 19 Sunday Ramzan Id and 
Muslim, common local holidays
August 2 Sunday Friendship Day Observance
August 15 Saturday Independence Day Gazetted holiday
August 15 Saturday Thanksgiving Day Observance
August 18 Tuesday Parsi New Year Restricted holiday
August 28 Friday Onam Restricted holiday
August 29 Saturday Raksha Bandhan(Rakhi) Restricted holiday
September 5 Saturday Janmashtami Gazetted holiday
September 17 Thursday Ganesh Chaturthi and Vinayaka Chaturthi Restricted holiday
September 23 Wednesday September equinox Season
September 25 Friday Bakr Id and 
Eid ul-Adha
Gazetted holiday
October 2 Friday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti Gazetted holiday
October 20 Tuesday Maha Saptami Restricted holiday
October 21 Wednesday Maha Ashtami Restricted holiday
October 22 Thursday Dussehra 
(Maha Navami)
Gazetted holiday
October 24 Saturday Muharram and Ashura Gazetted holiday
October 27 Tuesday Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti Restricted holiday
October 30 Friday Karaka Chaturthi(Karva Chauth) Restricted holiday
October 31 Saturday Halloween Observance
November 10 Tuesday Naraka Chaturdasi Restricted holiday
November 11 Wednesday Diwali and Deepavali Gazetted holiday
November 12 Thursday Govardhan Puja Restricted holiday
November 13 Friday Bhai Duj Restricted holiday
November 17 Tuesday Chhat Puja (Pratihar Sashthi and Surya Sashthi) Restricted holiday
November 24 Tuesday Guru Tegh Bahadur's Martyrdom Day Restricted holiday
November 25 Wednesday Guru Nanak Jayanti Gazetted holiday
December 7 Monday First day of Hanukkah Observance
December 14 Monday Last day of Hanukkah Observance
December 22 Tuesday December Solstice Season change
December 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Restricted holiday
December 25 Friday Christmas Day Gazetted holiday
December 31 Thursday New Year's Eve Observance, Christian